# Portkey — An open-source AI gateway that unifies model access with governance and LLM observability.

> Source: The Agents Index — https://theagentsindex.com/portkey (structured, researched, re-verified)

Portkey is an AI gateway and LLM operations platform that routes a unified API to models while adding observability, guardrails, governance, and prompt management. Its MCP Gateway manages authentication, tool access, and logs between AI agents and MCP servers.

**Best for:** AI teams running production applications across multiple LLM providers

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Website | https://portkey.ai/ |
| Category | LLM gateways & routers |
| Open source | Yes |
| Price | Free |
| Price source | https://portkey.ai/pricing |
| Price checked | 29 October 2026 |
| MCP server | Yes |
| API | Not stated |
| Self-host | Yes |
| Facts | 20 facts from 12 sources |
| Facts checked | 29 October 2026 |

Screenshot of Portkey: https://theagentsindex.com/img/1920/screenshots/portkey.webp, captured 1 November 2026

**What we checked**

- Pages last read: 29 October 2026
- Facts checked: 20 facts (From 12 sources)
- AI answers: Named in 0 of 151 (Our October check)

## What we checked on Portkey

### How much it does unattended

**Agent permissions** · Yes — The MCP Gateway checks permissions before tool calls and can enable or disable tools for individual users.

> The Gateway handles credential injection, permission checks, and request logging for all configured servers.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/mcp-gateway.md · MCP Gateway documentation, introduction, checked 29 October 2026

### Which models it runs on

**Model choice** · Yes — Teams choose from supported providers and models through one universal API rather than a vendor-selected model.

> Use any of the supported models with a universal API (REST and SDKs)
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/ai-gateway.md · AI Gateway documentation, Features, Universal API, checked 29 October 2026

### Whose machine it runs on

**Self-hosted** · Yes — The open-source gateway can run locally or be self-hosted, separate from Portkey's managed deployment plans.

> You can also self-host the gateway and then connect it to Portkey.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/ai-gateway.md · AI Gateway documentation, Open Source section, checked 29 October 2026

**Open source** · Yes — Portkey publishes its AI Gateway as an open-source component alongside separately sold managed plans.

> We have open sourced our battle-tested AI Gateway to the community
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/open-source.md · Open Source documentation, Portkey AI Gateway section, checked 29 October 2026

**Licence** · Partly — The AI Gateway is open source, while the vendor also sells managed Developer, Production, and Enterprise plans.

> | Product / Plan | **Open Source** | **Dev (Free Forever)** | **Pro ($49/Month)** | **Enterprise (Custom)** |
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md · Feature Comparison documentation, detailed comparison plan header, checked 29 October 2026

**Open-source runtime** · Yes — The documented open-source gateway runs locally through an npx command, providing a self-run gateway runtime.

> You can run it locally with a single command: npx @portkey-ai/gateway
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/ai-gateway.md · AI Gateway documentation, Open Source section, checked 29 October 2026

**Runs in your cloud** · Partly — Enterprise hybrid deployment runs the AI Gateway and data plane in the buyer's environment while Portkey hosts control management.

> the AI Gateway and data plane run in your environment while Portkey manages the control plane.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md · Feature Comparison documentation, Hybrid Deployment, checked 29 October 2026

### Building with it

**SDK languages** · Yes — Portkey documents SDK usage in Python and Node.js, with REST access also available through its universal interface.

> Node.js, Python, OpenAI JS, OpenAI Py, cURL
> — https://portkey.ai/ · Homepage, Plug & Play integration section, checked 29 October 2026

**Tracing and evals** · Yes — Its observability suite records requests and responses, supports tracing, and presents analytics for LLM application monitoring.

> Portkey supports request tracing to help you monitor your applications throughout the lifecycle of a request.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/observability.md · Observability documentation, Features, Tracing, checked 29 October 2026

### What it costs to run

**How it meters** · Yes — The paid Production plan bills monthly, with a stated request-overage charge after its included recorded-log allowance.

> +$9 overages per additional 100k requests
> — https://portkey.ai/pricing · Pricing page, Production plan card, recorded logs allowance, checked 29 October 2026

**Free tier** · Yes — A standing Developer plan is labeled free forever and provides a self-serve starting path without a sales call.

> Developer, Free Forever
> — https://portkey.ai/pricing · Pricing page, Developer plan heading, checked 29 October 2026

**MCP server** · Yes — The MCP Gateway proxies MCP clients to configured servers and supports authentication, authorization, tool access, and interaction logs.

> It acts as a proxy between MCP Clients and MCP servers, handling authentication, access control, and logging.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/mcp-gateway.md · MCP Gateway documentation, introduction, checked 29 October 2026

**Bring your own key** · Yes — Organizations supply and centrally govern their own provider credentials, including API keys for model providers such as OpenAI.

> Enter your API keys here
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/model-catalog.md · Model Catalog documentation, Adding an AI Provider, Choose or Create Credentials, checked 29 October 2026

### Buying it for a team

**A company can buy it** · Yes — Portkey offers an Enterprise plan with customized infrastructure and governance capabilities designed for organizations operating at scale.

> Enterprise customers leverage Portkey to observe, govern, and optimize their Gen AI services at scale across the entire org.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md · Feature Comparison documentation, Why Enterprises Choose Portkey, checked 29 October 2026

**Admin controls** · Partly — Enterprise administrators can control model access, workspace budgets, rate limits, and permissions, but these controls are not product-wide.

> For enterprise clients, we provide enhanced Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), allowing for stringent governance suited to complex organizational needs.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/security-portkey.md · Security documentation, Access Control, checked 29 October 2026

**Audit log** · Partly — Enterprise audit logs record administrative activity with user, resource, action, timestamp, and other traceability information.

> This is a Portkey Enterprise plan feature.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/audit-logs.md · Audit Logs documentation, plan availability note, checked 29 October 2026

**Single sign-on** · Partly — Enterprise control-plane SSO supports both OIDC and SAML 2.0, rather than being documented for every plan.

> Portkey Control plane supports following authentication protocols for enterprise customers. 1. OIDC (OpenID Connect) 2. SAML 2.0
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/org-management/sso.md · SSO documentation, opening protocol list, checked 29 October 2026

### What happens to your code

**Data residency** · Partly — Hybrid Enterprise deployment keeps sensitive LLM data in the buyer's infrastructure, though no specific regional jurisdiction is published.

> All sensitive LLM data stays within your infrastructure
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md · Feature Comparison documentation, Hybrid Deployment key features, checked 29 October 2026

**Getting out** · Partly — Enterprise customers can export structured log data, while the vendor does not state a policy for unused credits or their expiry.

> Logs export feature is only available on the enterprise plan.
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/observability/logs-export.md · Logs Export documentation, plan availability note, checked 29 October 2026

**Certifications** · Partly — Enterprise documentation states SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, and HIPAA compliance, rather than publishing these certifications across all plans.

> All enterprise deployment options include comprehensive security features such as SOC2, ISO27001, GDPR, and HIPAA compliance certifications
> — https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md · Feature Comparison documentation, Enterprise Deployment Options, checked 29 October 2026

## Portkey price and terms

**Terms**

- Free plan: Yes — Developer is Free Forever with 10K requests per month — the card also states 10k recorded logs per month and three days of log retention.

**What needs a higher plan**

- Enterprise: Runs in your cloud, A company can buy it, Admin controls, Audit log, Single sign-on, Data residency

## For AI agents

- MCP server: Yes

Pricing page as we captured it: https://theagentsindex.com/img/1920/screenshots/portkey/pricing.webp, captured 1 November 2026

Read on https://portkey.ai/pricing, 29 October 2026.

## Portkey alternatives

- [OpenRouter](https://theagentsindex.com/openrouter) · Free plan: One OpenAI-compatible API that routes across hundreds of models and providers.
- [LiteLLM](https://theagentsindex.com/litellm) · Free plan: Self-hosted open-source gateway that puts models, agents and MCP tools behind one API.

All 2 publish a price.

[All 2 alternatives](https://theagentsindex.com/portkey/alternatives/)

## Questions about Portkey

### How much does Portkey cost?

Portkey is free to use. From portkey.ai/pricing, checked 29 October 2026.

### Does Portkey have an API or an MCP server?

It has an MCP server.

### Is Portkey open source, and can you host it yourself?

It is open source. You can host it yourself.

### What have we checked on Portkey?

20 facts, under these headings: How much it does unattended, which models it runs on, whose machine it runs on, building with it, what it costs to run, buying it for a team, what happens to your code.

### How do we check Portkey?

We hold 20 facts on Portkey, quoted from 12 pages. Facts and price last checked 29 October 2026.

How we check every listing: https://theagentsindex.com/methodology/

## Sources and changes

Last changed 1 November 2026

**Sources on portkey.ai** (12)

- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/product-feature-comparison.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/ai-gateway.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/pricing, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/mcp-gateway.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/audit-logs.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/org-management/sso.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/enterprise-offering/security-portkey.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/model-catalog.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/observability.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/observability/logs-export.md, read 29 October 2026
- https://portkey.ai/docs/product/open-source.md, read 29 October 2026

## Is this yours?

AI assistants like ChatGPT and Claude opened The Agents Index pages 2,746 times in September. Claim Portkey: https://theagentsindex.com/claim/portkey

Report an error if a fact is wrong: hello@theagentsindex.com, subject "Report an error: Portkey (portkey)".
