Skip to content
The Agents Index

Head to head

LiveKit Agents vs PolyAI (2026)

Want full code ownership, self-hosting, and pricing you can plan against long-term without a sales call → LiveKit Agents.

LiveKit Agents is an open-source (Apache 2.0), self-hostable voice-agent framework with fully published pricing through a $500/month Scale tier (you write code and own your stack), while PolyAI is a proprietary, cloud-only enterprise incumbent founded in 2017 with 200+ named customers and a $750M valuation, sales-led only again as of an August 2026 re-check after a May 2026 self-serve on-ramp went away, so the real choice is transparent, ownable open-source infrastructure versus a proven enterprise product with no public price at all.

1 with a free plan · prices checked 24 October 2026

Reviewed by The Agents Index editorial team.

On this page
  1. How LiveKit Agents and PolyAI compare
  2. Who each one is for
  3. Verdict: LiveKit Agents or PolyAI?
  4. Frequently asked questions
  5. Sources and method

How LiveKit Agents and PolyAI compare

LiveKit Agents vs PolyAI comparison
Question
LiveKit AgentsEngineering teams that want to own their voice-agent stack end to end, self-hosted or on LiveKit Cloud, without being locked into one vendor's API.Visit site
PolyAITeams that want a proven, enterprise-scale, compliance-certified voice AI vendor with a research-led model roadmap, and are prepared to start with a sales conversation: there is no self-serve or free way to trial it today.Visit site
The basics
PriceLiveKit Agents: free, then $50/monthPolyAI: Not stated
APILiveKit Agents: YesPolyAI: YesAgent Developer Kit (ADK): CLI and Python package, docs published publicly at polyai.github.io/adk/, plus a managed Connect Portal covering 130+ integrations. Access requires a sales conversation.
CategoryLiveKit Agents: Voice agents, Agent frameworks, Voice AI APIsPolyAI: Voice agents
Pricing modelLiveKit Agents: freemiumPolyAI: usage-based
Model / LLMLiveKit Agents: Model-agnostic (bring your own or LiveKit-hosted Inference)PolyAI: Proprietary (Dialog-RSN-1 for English voice, Raven 3.5 for non-English and web chat)
InterfaceLiveKit Agents: APIPolyAI: Web
DeploymentLiveKit Agents: BothPolyAI: Cloud
LimitationsLiveKit Agents: It is a framework and SDK, not a turnkey dashboard builder. You write and deploy agent code yourself, unlike this category's other platforms, which configure a working agent through a hosted API/dashboard with far less engineering lift. The free tier's $2.50 monthly inference credit covers only about 50 minutes of LiveKit-hosted model usage. A real deployment needs either metered LiveKit Inference credits or your own third-party provider API keys billed separately, on top of the agent-session-minute meter.PolyAI: No self-serve signup or public pricing of any kind as of an August 2026 re-check. PolyAI briefly ran a free, email-signup self-serve tier from May 2026, but that on-ramp is gone from its own site, and every path (including the no-code Agent Studio and the ADK) now starts with a sales conversation, the same access model PolyAI ran before May 2026. PolyAI's own reported GAAP financials show operating losses widening to $26.6M (from $23.8M) against $15M revenue for the 12 months to January 31, 2025, spending well ahead of reported revenue even as forward ARR guidance (a less-audited metric) is projected near $40M.
TagsLiveKit Agents: API, Autonomous, Claude, Enterprise, Free tier, GPT, Multi-agent, Open models, Open source, Self-hostedPolyAI: API, Autonomous, Claude, Enterprise, Free tier, GPT, No-code
What it does
Done-for-you serviceLiveKit Agents: Nolivekit.comPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
How much it does unattended
Runs autonomouslyLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Multi-agentLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Nodocs.poly.ai
Agent permissionsLiveKit Agents: Partlydocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
Which models it runs on
ClaudeLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yespoly.ai
GPTLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yespoly.ai
Open modelsLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
Model choiceLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Where you use it
On the command lineLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
In your pipelineLiveKit Agents: Partlydocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
In a browserLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Whose machine it runs on
Self-hostedLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Nopoly.ai
Open sourceLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: PartlyAgent Development Kit (ADK)github.com
What it costs to run
How it metersLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Yespoly.ai
Price per 1,000 requestsLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Not stated
Free creditLiveKit Agents: Yes$2.50 of free usage, a month.livekit.comPolyAI: Not stated
Free tierLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Yespoly.ai
API accessLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
MCP serverLiveKit Agents: Partlydocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Bring your own keyLiveKit Agents: Partlydocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Buying it for a team
A company can buy itLiveKit Agents: Yesdocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Seat modelLiveKit Agents: Nodocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Nopoly.ai
Pooled budgetLiveKit Agents: PartlyEnterprise plan and updocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
Admin controlsLiveKit Agents: PartlyScale plan and uplivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Audit logLiveKit Agents: Partlylivekit.comPolyAI: PartlyEnterprise plan and updocs.poly.ai
Single sign-onLiveKit Agents: PartlyEnterprise plan and uplivekit.comPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
What happens to your code
Opt out of trainingLiveKit Agents: Yeslivekit.comPolyAI: Partlydocs.poly.ai
Data residencyLiveKit Agents: PartlyScale plan and uplivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai
Getting outLiveKit Agents: Partlydocs.livekit.ioPolyAI: Partlypoly.ai
CertificationsLiveKit Agents: Partlylivekit.comPolyAI: Yesdocs.poly.ai

LiveKit Agents and PolyAI both sit in the voice-agents category, but they come from opposite starting points. LiveKit Agents is an Apache 2.0-licensed, fully open-source framework from real-time infrastructure company LiveKit. Founded in 2021 as an open WebRTC project, it now powers OpenAI's ChatGPT Advanced Voice Mode alongside customers like xAI, Salesforce and Tesla, backed by a $1B valuation on $181.3M raised (a $100M Series C led by Index Ventures, January 2026). You write agent code in Python or TypeScript, wiring together your own speech-to-text/LLM/text-to-speech pipeline (or LiveKit's managed Inference gateway), and can self-host the entire stack or run it on LiveKit Cloud. PolyAI is the category's pre-LLM-era incumbent: founded in London in 2017 by Nikola Mrkšić, Shawn Wen and Eddy Su, growing out of Cambridge machine-learning research, now valued at $750M (an $86M Series D in December 2025, with NVIDIA's NVentures among the backers) with 200+ enterprise customers running thousands of live deployments across 75+ languages in 25+ countries. Its proprietary Raven dialog model now also runs alongside GPT-5, Claude and Gemini. PolyAI was sales-led only for its first eight years; a May 2026 platform opening briefly introduced a self-serve on-ramp: a no-code Poly Agent Builder plus a developer-focused Agent Development Kit (ADK), free for the first two months from just an email address. Re-verified live in August 2026, that on-ramp is gone from PolyAI's own site: access is sales-led again.

Pricing is where the two diverge hardest. LiveKit publishes a full, transparent ladder: Build is free (1,000 agent-session minutes/month, 5 concurrent sessions, $2.50 inference credit, no credit card required), Ship starts at $50/month (5,000 minutes included, then $0.01/min, 20 concurrent sessions), Scale starts at $500/month (50,000 minutes included, up to 600 concurrent sessions), and Enterprise is custom above that. Every tier's numbers are on the public pricing page today. PolyAI publishes no public rate card at all: every deployment, including its largest (PG&E's, handling 16 million calls a year), runs through a custom-quoted, sales-led engagement billed per minute, bundling ongoing tuning, maintenance and 24/7 support; third-party estimates put typical contracts starting around $150,000/year.

The access model is the other real fork. LiveKit Agents is a framework and SDK, not a turnkey dashboard: you write and deploy real code, choosing your own providers or LiveKit's managed gateway, which suits engineering teams that want full ownership and no vendor lock-in. PolyAI offers two paths once an engagement is underway: the no-code Poly Agent Builder, which PolyAI claims can produce a production-ready agent in under 10 minutes from a natural-language description, and the ADK for engineers who want a Git-based, code-first workflow with 130+ pre-built Connect Portal integrations, but reaching either now starts with a sales conversation, not a signup form. PolyAI also brings deeper enterprise proof at scale today (a Forrester-modeled 391% three-year ROI for a composite customer, SOC 2/HIPAA/GDPR/PCI DSS compliance out of the box, and named production deployments most vendors in this category can't match), while LiveKit's open-source model means you can inspect, modify and audit every line running your voice agent yourself.

Who each one is for

LiveKit Agents

Engineering teams that want to own their voice-agent stack end to end, self-hosted or on LiveKit Cloud, without being locked into one vendor's API.

From Free

Watch for: A framework, not a no-code or dashboard-first builder. Expect to write and deploy real code, unlike this category's more configured rivals.

PolyAI

Teams that want a proven, enterprise-scale, compliance-certified voice AI vendor with a research-led model roadmap, and are prepared to start with a sales conversation: there is no self-serve or free way to trial it today.

Watch for: No self-serve or free path exists today. Both build tools (Poly Agent Studio and the ADK) are reachable only after a sales conversation, following a self-serve tier that ran free for two months from May 2026 and was gone from PolyAI's own site by an August 2026 re-check.

Verdict: LiveKit Agents or PolyAI?

Want full code ownership, self-hosting, and pricing you can plan against long-term without a sales call → LiveKit Agents. Need the deepest proven enterprise scale (tens of millions of calls a year), enterprise-grade compliance certifications, and can budget for a sales-led engagement with no public price → PolyAI. Want to try something today without a sales call → only LiveKit Agents offers that; PolyAI's brief May 2026 self-serve on-ramp is no longer live as of an August 2026 re-check. Want to avoid vendor lock-in entirely, inspecting and modifying the code your voice agent runs on → only LiveKit Agents is open source; PolyAI is closed-source and sales-gated at every tier.

The digest

Which agents actually ship. New agents and articles, by email, at most once a week.

Frequently asked questions

Is LiveKit Agents or PolyAI open source?
LiveKit Agents is. Its Agents SDK and framework are Apache 2.0-licensed and fully open on GitHub (11.5k+ stars), fully self-hostable. PolyAI is closed-source and sales-gated at every tier; you use it as a hosted product, not code you can inspect or modify.
Which one is actually free, and for how long?
LiveKit Agents' Build tier is permanently free (1,000 agent-session minutes/month, no credit card, no time limit). PolyAI briefly offered a self-serve tier free for the first two months from a May 2026 platform opening, but that tier is gone as of an August 2026 re-check. PolyAI publishes no free tier or public price today.
Do I need to write code for either one?
LiveKit Agents, yes: it is a framework and SDK, and you write and deploy real Python or TypeScript code to build an agent. PolyAI offers a no-code path (Poly Agent Builder, claimed production-ready in under 10 minutes) as well as a code-first option (the ADK) once a sales engagement is underway.
Which has more enterprise proof at scale?
PolyAI, by a wide margin today: 200+ named enterprise customers, thousands of live deployments across 75+ languages, and case studies like PG&E's 16-million-call-a-year deployment. LiveKit Agents is newer to voice specifically but is proven at serious scale in its own right: it powers OpenAI's ChatGPT Advanced Voice Mode and counts xAI, Salesforce and Tesla as customers.
Can I self-host either platform?
LiveKit Agents, yes: self-hosting your own infrastructure is a core supported path, or you can use managed LiveKit Cloud with the identical SDK. PolyAI is cloud-only; there is no self-hosted option at any tier.

Sources and method

How we rank

Every price here was read on the maker's own pricing page.

The digestFree

Which agents actually ship.

New agents and articles, by email, at most once a week.

Last issue · No. 1 · 13 October 2026Devin vs Claude Code: Which Should You Pick?

One-click unsubscribe

At a glance

LiveKit Agents is an open-source (Apache 2.0), self-hostable voice-agent framework with fully published pricing through a $500/month Scale tier (you write code and own your stack), while PolyAI is a proprietary, cloud-only enterprise incumbent founded in 2017 with 200+ named customers and a $750M valuation, sales-led only again as of an August 2026 re-check after a May 2026 self-serve on-ramp went away, so the real choice is transparent, ownable open-source infrastructure versus a proven enterprise product with no public price at all.

The Agents Index digest

The agents we added and what we wrote about them, by email, no more than once a week.

Last issue: Devin vs Claude Code: Which Should You Pick? · 13 October 2026