Head to head
n8n vs Zapier (2026)
Pick n8n if data has to stay on your own servers or in the EU.
Both checked against their own sites 18 October 2026 · October AI answer share: n8n 17%, Zapier 9%
Reviewed by The Agents Index editorial team.
How n8n and Zapier compare
| Question | ||
|---|---|---|
| The basics | ||
| Price | n8n: From about $27 a monthn8n.io | Zapier: Free, then $29.99 a monthzapier.com |
| Category | n8n: Agent platforms, AI workflow automation | Zapier: AI workflow automation |
| Pricing model | n8n: freemium | Zapier: Not stated |
| Model / LLM | n8n: Model-agnostic (OpenAI, Anthropic, Ollama…) | Zapier: Not stated |
| Interface | n8n: Visual | Zapier: Not stated |
| Deployment | n8n: Both | Zapier: Not stated |
| Tags | n8n: API, Autonomous, Claude, Enterprise, Free tier, GPT, Multi‑agent, No‑code, Open models, Open source, Self‑hosted | Zapier: Not stated |
| What it does | ||
| Writes code | n8n: Partlydocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Debugs and fixes | n8n: Partlyn8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Writes tests | n8n: Nodocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Reviews code | n8n: Nodocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Ships it | n8n: Partlydocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Done-for-you service | n8n: Non8n.io | Zapier: Nozapier.com |
| How much it does unattended | ||
| Runs autonomously | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Multi-agent | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Agent permissions | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Which models it runs on | ||
| Claude | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| GPT | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Open models | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Model choice | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: PartlyEnterprise plan and upzapier.com |
| Where you use it | ||
| In your editor | n8n: Partlydocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Partlyzapier.com |
| On the command line | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Partlydocs.zapier.com |
| In your pipeline | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| In a browser | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Whose machine it runs on | ||
| Self-hosted | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Nozapier.com |
| Open source | n8n: Partlydocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| What it costs to run | ||
| How it meters | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Price per 1,000 requests | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Free credit | n8n: Yes1,000 free requests, once, at signup.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Free tier | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| API access | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yesdocs.zapier.com |
| MCP server | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Bring your own key | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: PartlyEnterprise plan and upzapier.com |
| Buying it for a team | ||
| A company can buy it | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Seat model | n8n: Non8n.io | Zapier: Partlyzapier.com |
| Pooled budget | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
| Admin controls | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: PartlyEnterprise plan and upzapier.com |
| Audit log | n8n: PartlyEnterprise plan and upn8n.io | Zapier: PartlyTeam plan and upzapier.com |
| Single sign-on | n8n: PartlyBusiness plan and upn8n.io | Zapier: PartlyTeam plan and upzapier.com |
| What happens to your code | ||
| Opt out of training | n8n: Yesdocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Not stated |
| Data residency | n8n: Yesn8n.io | Zapier: Partlyzapier.com |
| Getting out | n8n: Partlydocs.n8n.io | Zapier: Partlyzapier.com |
| Certifications | n8n: Partlyn8n.io | Zapier: Yeszapier.com |
n8n's self-hosted Community edition is free, and its Cloud Starter plan runs from €20 a month (about $22) for 2,500 executions. Zapier has a free tier, and its paid plans start at $29.99 a month. Neither sells by the seat in the usual way. n8n allows unlimited users on every plan and meters executions. Zapier bundles users by plan: one on Free and Professional, 25 on Team, unlimited on Enterprise, with price driven by task volume. On n8n's hosted side, the Cloud Business tier jumps to €667 a month (about $745), with no hosted tier between Pro and Business.
n8n installs with Docker, npm or Helm on your own machines, air-gapped if required, and the Community edition needs no licence key. n8n Cloud keeps data in Frankfurt, with no other region published. Zapier cannot be self-hosted. Its privacy statement commits site data to US processing, and no in-region hosting option is offered. On Enterprise, only AI inference can move to a customer's Bedrock account.
Zapier says it holds SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, GDPR and CCPA. n8n is SOC 2 audited with external pen tests and runs a public Trust Center. Its GDPR cover is a pre-signed DPA. Zapier says it connects 9,000+ apps. n8n offers 500+ integrations, with custom HTTP and API connections for anything else.
Both run agents autonomously and both offer an MCP server. n8n builds workflows from a plain-language description, and its CLI manages workflows and executions over the API from any machine. Zapier's Code step runs code you supply. Its terminal tools are for developers only, and the automation product itself works in a browser. n8n supports bring your own key, open models, model choice and multi-agent work. Zapier names none of these. Complex agent logic can get unwieldy on n8n's visual canvas.
Who each one is for
n8n
Ops and automation teams who want to build agentic workflows visually while keeping data on self-hosted infrastructure.
From about $27 a month
Watch for: Fair-code is source-available, not OSI open-source, so check the licence before commercial resale.
Verdict: n8n or Zapier?
Pick n8n if data has to stay on your own servers or in the EU. It also fits teams where many people build automations, since users are unlimited on every plan, and teams that want to bring their own model keys. Developers who would rather write complex agent control as code may find its canvas a poor fit. Pick Zapier if you want a hosted tool that reaches a very wide range of SaaS apps without engineering, or if your security review asks for SOC 3 or CCPA. Zapier is the wrong choice if self-hosting or in-region hosting is a requirement.
Sources and method
Every price here was read on the maker's own pricing page.
- n8n: n8n.io/pricing, checked 1 November 2026
- Zapier: zapier.com/pricing, checked 18 October 2026
At a glance
Both build AI agents and automations across business apps for ops teams, so buyers weigh them directly. The deciding difference is where they run: n8n can be self-hosted on your own servers, even air-gapped, while Zapier cannot be self-hosted.
What changed in the index
Agents we’ve just listed and every plan whose price changed.