Skip to content
The Agents Index

GC AI

Claim

Is GC AI yours?

Claiming is free. You get this page's reader numbers and can edit its facts.

Claim this listing

You confirm it with an email at gc.ai.

GC AI is a legal AI platform built for in-house legal teams, covering drafting, contract review, playbooks and case-law research.

The six
  • API accessYes
  • Free tierPartly
  • MCP serverYes
  • Own API keyNot stated
  • Open sourceNot stated
  • Self-hostedNo
From
$500/seat/month$416.67 billed annually, 17% less
Best for
In-house legal teams and corporate counsel who need fast, cited research across US case law, statutes and regulations without engaging outside counsel for a first pass.

Checked · 1 fact changed · How we check · Editorial policy

Not for Buyers wanting open-web or general-purpose research (see Perplexity or Manus), academic or scientific literature research (see Elicit), or a free or self-hosted option (see GPT Researcher). GC AI is scoped specifically to US legal research and priced for legal-team budgets, not individual consumers.

Changed since our last check

  • Done-for-you service: now Partly. It was No when we checked on .

The facts, with their sources

What it does

Done-for-you service
PartlyYou buy and run the software yourself on the two published plans; only Enterprise buyers get vendor people doing implementation work, named on this page as managed procurement, onboarding and change management support rather than running the legal work for you.Was No before our last check.GC AI offers custom integrations, managed procurement and onboarding, change management support, ROI forecasting and dedicated support options for…gc.ai/pricing

How much it does unattended

Runs autonomously
PartlyAutomations run saved instructions on a schedule with no human present and cannot ask a clarifying question mid-run, but connector actions that send or change data default to needing approval, and the vendor frames output as work a lawyer still reviews.Automations are recurring GC AI chats. You set the task up once with the instructions, skills, files, playbooks, and context it needs, then pick a…docs.gc.ai/docs/automations/overview
Multi-agent
YesChat 2.0 runs specialised research and analysis processes in parallel and reconciles their findings before answering, so coordination happens inside one conversation rather than as user-assembled agents.When a complex legal question is asked, specialized research and analysis processes run in parallel. Findings are reconciled before output is…gc.ai/blog/introducing-chat-2-0-powered…
Agent permissions
YesPermissions are set per action type rather than per app, so searching an inbox and sending mail are separate grants, and an in-chat card offers Approve, Always approve or Deny before anything leaves.Every action type has its own setting: Needs approval, Always allow, or Block. Searching your inbox and sending an email are different permissions,…gc.ai/agent-connectors

Which models it runs on

Claude
YesAnthropic's Claude family is one of four providers the platform routes to, and Teams and Enterprise admins can additionally opt in to the Claude Fable 5 model, which carries 30-day retention rather than zero data retention.GC AI integrates multiple models from Anthropic's Claude family, ranging from highly capable reasoning models for complex legal analysis to faster…docs.gc.ai/docs/chat/ai-models
GPT
YesOpenAI models are in the routing lineup for reasoning and analysis, and the vendor states a zero data retention agreement is in place with OpenAI.GC AI uses OpenAI's most advanced models for complex reasoning and analysis.docs.gc.ai/docs/chat/ai-models
Open models
NoThe provider inventory GC AI publishes covers only proprietary frontier vendors - Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and xAI, with Cohere for embeddings - and no open-weight model or customer-supplied checkpoint appears on any plan.In Settings, admins can switch a toggle to prevent use of one or more models from the following providers: Anthropic (Claude), OpenAI (GPT), and xAI…docs.gc.ai/docs/chat/ai-model-opt-in-out
Model choice
PartlyThe vendor picks the model per task and users cannot choose one per chat; the only customer control is a Teams or Enterprise admin switching whole providers off, and at least one provider must stay on.GC AI automatically selects the best model for each task. You don't need to choose a model manually.docs.gc.ai/docs/chat/ai-models

Where you use it

In your editor
PartlyThere is no native editor extension; an IDE reaches GC AI only by pointing Cursor's MCP configuration at the public-beta MCP endpoint, which an org admin must first enable.Add the server to your MCP configuration with the same URL. Cursor opens the GC AI sign-in on first use, then the tools are available to the agent.docs.gc.ai/api-reference/mcp/connecting
On the command line
YesA published npm CLI covers the whole REST surface from a terminal, authenticating with an API key, so scripts and shell pipelines are a first-class path.Every command maps to a REST endpoint, so anything you can do over the API you can do from your terminal, with tab-completable commands, typed flags,…docs.gc.ai/api-reference/cli/overview
In a browser
YesThe hosted web app at app.gc.ai is the primary surface, carrying chat, files, projects and playbook reviews alongside browser-based document editing.plus interactive, day-to-day work across Slack, Microsoft Word, and the web app: chat, files, projects, playbook reviews, and the Slack connector,…gc.ai/pricing

Whose machine it runs on

Self-hosted
NoHosted SaaS only: buyers are told to allowlist the vendor's own domains for the web app and Word add-in, and GC AI states it runs all servers itself in the United States. No on-premise or customer-cloud deployment is offered on any plan.To ensure full functionality of GC AI products (Web App and Word Add-in), your network firewall or proxy must allow outbound connections to the…docs.gc.ai/security/whitelisting

What it costs to run

How it meters
YesA flat per-seat subscription rather than usage metering: $500 per month, or $5,000 a year, for one Individual seat with unlimited chats and skills, plus paid legal-database add-ons; Team and Enterprise are quoted on request.gc.ai/pricing
Free tier
PartlyThere is a free way in but no standing free plan: both published cards pair their paid price with a "Try for Free" button, and the page's only two plans are the $500/month Individual seat and the on-request Team plan, with no $0 tier listed.Buy Now Try for Freegc.ai/pricing
API access
YesA public REST API covering chat, files, playbooks, projects and skills is open to any organisation once an admin enables it, with no extra seat, though usage draws pooled credits rather than being bundled into the subscription.GC AI's API is available to your organization, with access enabled by an organization admin. There's no extra seat required. Usage is billed in…gc.ai/pricing
MCP server
YesGC AI runs its own remote MCP server exposing twenty tools over OAuth, so another agent can query and act in the account; it is public beta and off until an org admin turns it on.The GC AI MCP server lets an AI assistant work directly in your GC AI account. Connect it once in a host like ChatGPT, Claude, or Cursor, and the…docs.gc.ai/api-reference/mcp/overview

Buying it for a team

A company can buy it
YesTeam and Enterprise contracts exist with invoicing, procurement support and account executives, while a lone practitioner can still buy a single seat by card.Yes, invoicing options are available for team and enterprise plans. Single seats pay by card through our payment processor.gc.ai/pricing
Seat model
YesPriced per seat: the entry plan is a single Individual seat at $500 a month, and the pricing FAQ speaks of "Individual seats" as the unit, with Team sold on request so no seat floor or ceiling is published.For Individual seats, US Case Law and International Law are available as add-ons.gc.ai/pricing
Pooled budget
PartlySeats are individual and carry unlimited chats, so nothing is shared there; only API and MCP consumption draws on one organisation-wide credit balance that admins monitor.Usage is billed in credits, pooled across your organization, so you only pay for what you use.gc.ai/pricing
Admin controls
YesAdmins gate what the agent may touch org-wide and per member - connectors disabled, read-only or full access, public chat sharing, Google Drive import, personal API keys and which model providers are used.For most connectors, organization admins control whether access is Disabled, Read-only, or Full access for all members or specific members in…docs.gc.ai/docs/organizations/permissio…
Audit log
PartlyAuthentication audit logs and log streams are named as Enterprise features, and provider toggles plus connector connections record who changed what, but the docs still list advanced audit logging as not yet shipped.Yes. GC AI has SSO and MFA on Enterprise plans. Enterprise also includes Directory Sync, Domain Verification, Authentication Audit Logs, and Log…gc.ai
Single sign-on
PartlyBoth SAML and OIDC are supported through WorkOS with any major IdP, but SSO sits on Team and Enterprise only, needs domain verification first, and Individual seats get multi-factor authentication instead.GC AI supports SSO through WorkOS, which is compatible with any IdP that supports SAML or OIDC protocols.docs.gc.ai/security/sso-setup

What happens to your code

Opt out of training
YesNo opt-out is needed because the contractual default is no training on customer data, backed by zero data retention agreements; the exception is the optional Claude Fable 5 model, which retains data for 30 days for safety work.Our AI model providers are prohibited from using your data to train their models, and we maintain zero-data-retention agreements with our LLM…gc.ai/security
Data residency
YesJurisdiction is stated plainly and is singular: every server sits in the United States, with standard contractual clauses covering cross-border transfers. No EU or other regional hosting option is offered.US-based infrastructure with all servers located exclusively in the United Statesdocs.gc.ai/security/overview
Getting out
PartlyChats export one at a time as PDF, DOCX or Markdown and tables as CSV or XLSX, with bulk download explicitly unavailable and full erasure by written request; unused credits are forfeited at the end of each term.Unused Credits expire at the end of each Subscription Term and do not carry forward to any renewal or subsequent term. Expired Credits have no cash…gc.ai/terms
Certifications
YesSOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 and GDPR are all claimed, with the SOC 2 report available under NDA through the Trust Center and a DPA included in the standard terms for every customer.Yes. GC AI is SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 certified, GDPR compliant, with zero data retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic, and AES-256…gc.ai

Plans and pricing

Price and terms

Free trial
Yes14 days

What needs a higher plan

Enterprise
Done-for-you service, Audit log
Team / Enterprise
Single sign-on

From gc.ai/pricing, checked .

Works with

  • Claude
  • GPT

For AI agents

MCP server
Yes
API
Yes

Developer docs

Screenshots

  • Pricing page of GC AI
    Pricing page, gc.ai, captured
  • Docs of GC AI
    Docs, gc.ai, captured

Filed under

Research & data agentsAgent platformsIndustry agentsLegal agentsAPIAutonomousClaudeEnterpriseGPTMulti-agent

Sources and updates

Last changed

The Agents Index in AI answers0 of 1

  • PerplexityDoes not cite The Agents IndexAsked GC AI alternatives on Other sources: gc.ai, g2.com, peerspot.com, sourceforge.net, spellbook.com

Updates6

  • Capabilities · Free tier · Plan limits · Price
  • Free tier
  • Capabilities · Free tier · Price · Terms
  • Capabilities · Free tier · Terms
  • Capabilities · Free tier · Price · Terms
  • Alternatives · LinkedIn link · Summary · Tagline

Is this yours? Claim it free and edit it in your dashboard, or feature it in Research & data agents.

The digestFree

Which agents actually ship.

New agents and articles, by email, at most once a week.

Last issue · No. 1 · 13 October 2026Devin vs Claude Code: Which Should You Pick?

183 agents trackedOne-click unsubscribe

Alternatives

  • Elicit

    Research agent that searches 138M+ papers and runs systematic reviews with sentence-level citations.

    • API access: Partly
    • Free tier: Yes
    • MCP server: Partly
    • Own API key: Partly
    • Open source: No
    • Self-hosted: Partly
  • Perplexity

    AI answer engine with an agentic Computer, the Comet browser, and a developer API for web-grounded search.

    • API access: Yes
    • Free tier: Yes
    • MCP server: Yes
    • Own API key: No
    • Open source: Partly
    • Self-hosted: No
  • Manus

    General-purpose AI agent that plans and executes multi-step tasks on its own cloud computer.

    • API access: Yes
    • Free tier: Yes
    • MCP server: Partly
    • Own API key: Partly
    • Open source: Not stated
    • Self-hosted: No