Ranking Coding agents
The 18 best coding agents (2026): seat model
The best coding agents in October 2026 are OpenAI Codex, JetBrains AI and Zencoder. OpenAI Codex is the pick for developers who want one coding agent in their terminal, IDE and the cloud. We read the price of all 18 on their own sites.
- Under $251313 of 17
- $25 to $9944 of 17
- $100 to $29900 of 17
- $300 or more00 of 17
- 18
- ranked
- $20
- median first paid plan
- 13
- of the 18 have a free plan
theagentsindex.com · First paid plan from each agent's own pricing page, read 24 October–1 November 2026.
The short answer
OpenAI Codex ranks first. It starts at $8 a month.
JetBrains AI ranks second with a free plan, then about $11 a seat a month, and Zencoder third with a free plan, then $45 a seat a month. Kilo Code has a free plan too.
Half of the 17 agents with a monthly paid plan charge $20 a month or less.
13 agents here have a free plan to try before you pay. The highest ranked are JetBrains AI, Zencoder and Kilo Code.
All 18 picks at a glance
| # | Agent | Best for | Starts at |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | OpenAI Codex | Developers who want one coding agent in their terminal, IDE and the cloud | From $8 a monthits pricing page |
| 2 | JetBrains AI | JetBrains IDE users who want several coding agents under one governed subscription | Free, then about $11 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 3 | Zencoder | Teams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch | Free, then $45 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 4 | Kilo Code | Developers who want to switch models freely, local ones included, with no lock-in | Free, then $15 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 5 | Gemini Code Assist | Teams standardized on VS Code or JetBrains who are already on Google Cloud | On quoteits pricing page |
| 6 | Augment Code | Engineering leaders at organizations who want AI agents running full SDLC loops end to end | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 7 | Junie | Developers and teams already standardized on a JetBrains IDE who want an agent | Free, then about $11 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 8 | Zed | Developers who want a fast, open-source editor | Free, then $10 a monthits pricing page |
| 9 | Warp | Developers and teams who want one open platform that runs and coordinates multiple coding agents | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 10 | Google Antigravity CLI | Developers already inside the Google ecosystem (Google AI subscription, GCP billing) | Free, then $30 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 11 | CodeRabbit | Engineering teams, using a coding agent or writing code by hand, that want automatic | From $30 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 12 | Factory | Engineering organizations that want AI agents handling more of the SDLC than code generation alone | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 13 | Bolt | Founders, designers and developers | Free, then $25 a monthits pricing page |
| 14 | Codex CLI | Developers who already pay for a ChatGPT plan and want a terminal-native agent with granular | Free, then $8 a monthits pricing page |
| 15 | Devin | Engineering teams offloading well-scoped migration tasks without adding headcount | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 16 | Devin Desktop | Developers who want a full, agent-native desktop IDE and the freedom to run several coding agents | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 17 | Cursor | Professional developers who want a powerful AI agent woven into a familiar VS Code-based editor | Free, then $8 a monthits pricing page |
| 18 | GitHub Copilot | Enterprise and team developers already in GitHub and mainstream IDEs who want governed | Free, then $10 a monthits pricing page |
Checked between 24 October 2026 and 1 November 2026. “About” figures are converted at the European Central Bank rate of 30 October 2026.
18 agents, ranked. How we check
About this list
18 of 32 coding agents match “Seat model”. Of the rest: 6 on some plans only, 4 no, 4 unknown.
How the coding agents matching “Seat model” differ: only 0 of 18 match “Self-hosted”, against 10 of 14 in the rest; and 18 of 18 also match “A company can buy it”, against 7 of 14 in the rest of the category.
The ranking
The lowest monthly price we found
Best fordevelopers who want one coding agent in their terminal, IDE and the cloud
Seat model: Yes — Priced per user per month with a two-seat floor: $20 per user billed annually, $25 per user when billed monthly, and no published seat ceiling.“*2+ users, billed annually. $25 per user per month when billed monthly.”Pricing, Business card footnote · checked 2026-10-24
- Price
- From $8 a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
A free plan before you pay
Best forJetBrains IDE users who want several coding agents under one governed subscription
Seat model: Yes — Individual plans are priced per user per month and the Business governance plan is per seat, with Enterprise aimed at organisations of 100 developers or more.“€17.00 /seat (about $19) per month”Plans and pricing, Business column price cell · checked 2026-10-24
- Price
- Free, then about $11 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Teams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch
Best forteams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch
Seat model: Yes — Priced per user per month with a credit allowance attached to each seat; seats are freed and reassigned from the admin panel and no minimum seat count is published.“Per-seat credits that refresh each month.”Pro plan card, tooltip on the 30,000 monthly credits bullet · checked 2026-09-09
- Price
- Free, then $45 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Developers who want to switch models freely, local ones included
Best fordevelopers who want to switch models freely, local ones included, with no lock-in
Seat model: Yes — Paid team access is priced per user at $15 a month, charged per seat with centralized billing, and the pricing page names no seat minimum or maximum for Teams; Enterprise seat terms are quoted rather than published.“Teams. Everything in Free, plus team management. $15/user/month”Teams plan card, price cell; repeated in the Pricing summary table "Platform plan" row · checked 2026-11-01
- Price
- Free, then $15 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceYes
- Self-hostYes
Teams standardized on VS Code or JetBrains
Best forTeams standardized on VS Code or JetBrains who are already on Google Cloud
Seat model: Yes — Per-user licences with a 10-licence floor on Enterprise and none stated on Standard; no ceiling. Licences self-assign on first IDE use and a licence idle 30 days is reassigned.“Note that if you are purchasing Enterprise edition, then you must purchase at least 10 licenses.”Purchase a Gemini Code Assist subscription, step 4, Number of licenses bullet · checked 2026-09-02
- Price
- On quote · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APINot stated
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Questions buyers ask
How much do coding agents cost?
The median first paid plan is $20 a month, across the 17 of the 18 that publish a monthly price. They run from $8 to $45.
Which coding agents have a free plan?
13 of the 18 have a free plan.
How current are these figures?
The prices were read 24 October–1 November 2026.
Sources and method
Every price here was read on the maker's own pricing page.
Pricing pages 18 read
- OpenAI Codex learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing
- JetBrains AI jetbrains.com/store/ai
- Zencoder zencoder.ai/pricing
- Kilo Code kilo.ai/pricing
- Gemini Code Assist developers.google.com/gemini-code-assist/docs/deprecations/code-assist-individuals
- Augment Code augmentcode.com/pricing
- Junie jetbrains.com/store/ai
- Zed zed.dev/pricing
- Warp warp.dev/pricing
- Google Antigravity CLI antigravity.google/pricing
- CodeRabbit coderabbit.ai/pricing
- Factory factory.com/pricing
- Bolt bolt.new/pricing
- Codex CLI learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing
- Devin devin.ai/pricing
- Devin Desktop devin.ai/pricing
- Cursor cursor.com/pricing
- GitHub Copilot github.com/features/copilot/plans