Ranking Coding agents
The 23 best coding agents for Claude (2026)
The best coding agents for Claude in October 2026 are JetBrains AI, WTAgent and Zencoder. JetBrains AI is the pick for jetBrains IDE users who want several coding agents under one governed subscription. We read the price of all 23 on their own sites.
- Under $251414 of 16
- $25 to $9922 of 16
- $100 to $29900 of 16
- $300 or more00 of 16
- 23
- ranked
- $20
- median first paid plan
- 18
- of the 23 have a free plan
theagentsindex.com · First paid plan from each agent's own pricing page, read 2 September–1 November 2026.
The short answer
JetBrains AI ranks first. It has a free plan, and paid plans start at about $11 a seat a month.
WTAgent ranks second with a free plan, and Zencoder third with a free plan, then $45 a seat a month. Kilo Code and goose have free plans too.
Half of the 16 agents with a monthly paid plan charge $20 a month or less.
18 agents here have a free plan to try before you pay. The highest ranked are JetBrains AI, WTAgent and Zencoder.
All 23 picks at a glance
| # | Agent | Best for | Starts at |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | JetBrains AI | JetBrains IDE users who want several coding agents under one governed subscription | Free, then about $11 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 2 | WTAgent | Developers who want a local coding agent on a chat plan they already pay for | Freeits pricing page |
| 3 | Zencoder | Teams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch | Free, then $45 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 4 | Kilo Code | Developers who want to switch models freely, local ones included, with no lock-in | Free, then $15 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 5 | goose | Devs who want an open source coding agent that reuses an existing Claude or ChatGPT plan | Freeits pricing page |
| 6 | Augment Code | Engineering leaders at organizations who want AI agents running full SDLC loops end to end | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 7 | Junie | Developers and teams already standardized on a JetBrains IDE who want an agent | Free, then about $11 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 8 | Zed | Developers who want a fast, open-source editor | Free, then $10 a monthits pricing page |
| 9 | Warp | Developers and teams who want one open platform that runs and coordinates multiple coding agents | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 10 | CodeRabbit | Engineering teams, using a coding agent or writing code by hand, that want automatic | From $30 a seat a monthits pricing page |
| 11 | Factory | Engineering organizations that want AI agents handling more of the SDLC than code generation alone | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 12 | Letta | Developers and researchers who specifically need an agent whose memory, skills | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 13 | OpenCode | Developers who want a genuinely free, fully open-source coding agent that works | Free, then $10 a monthits pricing page |
| 14 | zot | Developers who want a fast, free, Go-native coding-agent harness with real session-branching control | Freeits pricing page |
| 15 | JugglerVerified owner | Developers who want hands-on visibility into what an AI coding agent is doing to their codebase | Freeits pricing page |
| 16 | OpenHands | Open source-minded engineering teams and enterprises that want a self-hostable coding agent platform | Free, then $0.10 per 1m input tokensits pricing page |
| 17 | Aider | Free, terminal-native, bring-your-own Claude key | Freeits pricing page |
| 18 | Cline | Developers and teams who want a transparent, open-source, model-agnostic agent they fully control | Freeits pricing page |
| 19 | Devin | Engineering teams offloading well-scoped migration tasks without adding headcount | Free, then $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 20 | Replit Agent | Non-technical founders who want a chat prompt to become a deployed, database-backed app | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 21 | Claude Code | Developers and teams who want a terminal-native, scriptable agent that composes with CI | From $20 a monthits pricing page |
| 22 | Cursor | Professional developers who want a powerful AI agent woven into a familiar VS Code-based editor | Free, then $8 a monthits pricing page |
| 23 | GitHub Copilot | Enterprise and team developers already in GitHub and mainstream IDEs who want governed | Free, then $10 a monthits pricing page |
Checked between 2 September 2026 and 1 November 2026. “About” figures are converted at the European Central Bank rate of 30 October 2026.
23 agents, ranked. How we check
About this list
23 of 32 coding agents match “Claude”. Of the rest: 3 on some plans only, 3 no, 3 unknown.
Two of these run Claude as the vendor's own default (Claude Code; and Claude selectable within Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot). The rest (Aider, Juggler, Zot) are model-agnostic tools where Claude is one of several providers you plug in yourself, so "supports Claude" means something different depending on which entry you click.
The ranking
A free plan before you pay
Best forJetBrains IDE users who want several coding agents under one governed subscription
Claude: Yes — Anthropic is named as a model provider behind the subscription and Claude Agent is one of the agents included in the AI Pro and AI Ultimate plans.“JetBrains AI is a service that provides access to AI models from leading providers such as OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, and xAI, as well as JetBrains' own model for code completion.”FAQ, 'What is JetBrains AI?' · checked 2026-10-24
- Price
- Free, then about $11 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Best fordevelopers who want a local coding agent on a chat plan they already pay for
Claude: Yes — Claude is a first-class provider selected with a flag; it uses whichever model your claude.ai browser profile already has chosen.“Claude keeps the model selected by claude.ai in its browser profile; WTAgent does not override it.”README, Quick start, paragraph after the --model examples · checked 2026-09-21
- Price
- Free · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APINot stated
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Teams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch
Best forteams running several coding agents side by side, each on its own branch
Claude: Yes — Anthropic models are in the managed catalogue on paid plans and Claude Code can be chosen as the runtime; the Opus tiers require Pro Plus or above.“Anthropic | Haiku 4.5, Sonnet 4.6, Opus 4.6, Opus 4.7”Model Flexibility table, Anthropic row · checked 2026-09-09
- Price
- Free, then $45 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceNot stated
- Self-hostNot stated
Developers who want to switch models freely, local ones included
Best fordevelopers who want to switch models freely, local ones included, with no lock-in
Claude: Yes — Claude models are in the hosted catalogue and available via an Anthropic BYOK key.“Kilo gives you access to 500+ AI models through one unified interface, including Claude Sonnet 5, Claude Opus 4.8, GPT-5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview, DeepSeek, Mistral, xAI Grok, Qwen, Llama”Frequently asked questions, "Which AI models does Kilo Code support?" · checked 2026-09-02
- Price
- Free, then $15 a seat a month · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceYes
- Self-hostYes
Devs who want an open source coding agent
Best forDevs who want an open source coding agent that reuses an existing Claude or ChatGPT plan
Claude: Yes — Anthropic is a listed provider needing only an API key, and the vendor says tool calling works best with Claude models, with prompt caching switched on automatically for them.“goose relies heavily on tool calling capabilities and currently works best with Claude 4 models.”Model Selection admonition above Available Providers · checked 2026-10-23
- Price
- Free · source
- MCP serverNot stated
- APIYes
- Open sourceYes
- Self-hostYes
Questions buyers ask
How much do coding agents for Claude cost?
The median first paid plan is $20 a month, across the 16 of the 23 that publish a monthly price. They run from $8 to $45.
Which coding agents for Claude have a free plan?
18 of the 23 have a free plan.
How current are these figures?
The prices were read 2 September–1 November 2026.
Sources and method
Every price here was read on the maker's own pricing page.
Pricing pages 23 read
- JetBrains AI jetbrains.com/store/ai
- WTAgent xixian42.github.io/wtagent
- Zencoder zencoder.ai/pricing
- Kilo Code kilo.ai/pricing
- goose goose-docs.ai
- Augment Code augmentcode.com/pricing
- Junie jetbrains.com/store/ai
- Zed zed.dev/pricing
- Warp warp.dev/pricing
- CodeRabbit coderabbit.ai/pricing
- Factory factory.com/pricing
- Letta docs.letta.com/pricing
- OpenCode opencode.ai/v2/docs
- zot github.com/patriceckhart/zot/blob/main/LICENSE
- Juggler juggler.studio
- OpenHands docs.openhands.dev/openhands/usage/llms/openhands-llms
- Aider aider.chat/docs/faq.html
- Cline cline.bot/pricing
- Devin devin.ai/pricing
- Replit Agent replit.com/pricing
- Claude Code claude.com/pricing
- Cursor cursor.com/pricing
- GitHub Copilot github.com/features/copilot/plans